Star Ford

Essays on lots of things since 1989.

Active Danish, curriculum

on 1989 April 25

I wrote this Danish textbook for English speakers. It’s more for intellectual grammar-oriented people than the casual traveler.

It is scanned in pieces, all PDF.
p1-14; p15-39; p40-61; p62-89

4 responses to “Active Danish, curriculum

  1. Laura says:

    Why is this backdated to 1989?

  2. ianology says:

    All the posts here are dated when they were written, not on when they were moved to wordpress.

  3. Anna says:

    I’ve skimmed just the first few pages. I like the ambition and style and the explanations / outline of the system (and lack thereof) is good, but I noticed a couple of errors:

    Page 1: “en stor bjerge” translates directly to “a big mountains” in English. Bjerge is plural for bjerg, which is neuter-gender, so it needs to be either “et stort bjerg” (a big mountain) or “store bjerge” (big mountains).

    Page 2: Just spelling – it is Norwegian, not Norweigian.

    It is so very right that Danish is very close to Norwegian, especially in writing. I’m Danish, and I once read some pages of a Norwegian cartoon and was puzzled about the many spelling errors and odd use of words, until I realised that it was Norwegian and not Danish I was reading!

    Anyway, impressive to work out all these rules for someone who isn’t Danish – I have been told that it is one of the hardest languages to learn. Did you learn Danish for travel reasons, or just decided to learn it out of interest?

    An off-topic sidenote: I landed here on your blog after reading about the Ocate Cliffs project, which I think sounds like an exceptionally good idea. Unfortunately I’m a bit far away – in Australia, and not really a traveller – I would love to see a concept like that over here, and maybe it will come – inspired by the Ocate Cliffs, probably depending how it works out as a business model when it is complete & have been running a few years. (Even IF it doesn’t become a business success in the conventional sense, it can still have much potential value to give as a safe retreat and community connection point for autistics)

    I’ve been reading a lot of asperger’s/autism stuff but had never heard about Ocate Cliffs projected, or you, before. I really like the thinking behind the project, about focussing on strengths, cultivating peoples’ unique special interests/talents/skills and constructing autistic businesses/workplaces rather than focussing on “hiding the differences” enough to squeeze people into some mindless, future-less roles in the bottom of the traditional corporate hierarchy. I have Asperger’s and have always struggled a lot with employment (although much has improved relative to earlier, especially social skills & understanding). My current part time job will end in June, so I’m back in job search and dilemmas and insecurity about what can work.

  4. starlys says:

    It’s not often I get a comment on a post that’s 26 years old!! The spelling mistakes will have to live since there’s no way I’m going to push for any kind of adoption of this ancient curriculum. To answer your question, I learned Danish so that I could experience another culture, which I wanted to do because I was suffering so much in the american culture.

Leave a Reply

